top of page

Blog

Berry Pie Grain Free/Gluten Free/Vegan

I crave and love desserts just like everyone of you, and some times I allow myself the full thing what ever your dream craving is, be it a chocolate cake or ice-cream, but the feelings of bloating, indigestion, and fatigue that comes after, is my bodies way of telling me this is not good for your body, and I am glad my signs are loud and clear.

It motivates me to try and satisfy my cravings in a healthier way the next time, this week I was invited out and I knew there will be loads of sugary desserts, that I didn't want to dig into, I made this amazing healthy berry pie, and even though the dessert looked very intimidating I decided to start with my healthy pie and see how I feel from there, it completely satisfied my craving, I didn't even look back at all the other desserts, and I left feeling light and energetic! win win situation.

This recipe is inspired from Bakerita.com with a slight twist

INGREDIENTS

Crust

  • ½ cup (40g) unsweetened shredded coconut

  • 1 ½ cups (190g) almond flour

  • 2 tablespoons (30g) coconut oil, melted

  • 2 tablespoons (30g) maple syrup

  • ¼ tsp salt

For the ganache

For the topping

  • Assorted fresh berries or fruit of your choice (I used raspberries, blueberries and blackberries)

INSTRUCTIONS

For the crust

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a bowl mix together almond flour, salt, coconut oil at room temperature and shredded coconut

  2. Transfer dough to a greased 9-inch tart pan with a removable bottom. press the dough and flatten it out in the pan

  3. Bake in center of oven until golden and firm, about 12-16 minutes. let it cool for one hour

For the ganache

  1. Skim all the cream off the canned coconut milk and leave the liquid behind, add that to the hazelnut butter and coconut oil, warm it for 15 sec., mix it well then pour it on top of the pie.

  2. Let it cool for a few minutes then assemble your fruits

Featured Posts

Archive

Follow Me

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page