top of page

Blog

Post workout meals

I love hiking, it keeps me feeling good through the dark long winter days here is Seattle, the smell of trees and soil lifts my spirits up and brightens my day, I couldn't see myself going to the gym, during aerobic classes or even practicing yoga, I wanted a work out that my eyes would light up just thinking about it, something that would get me out of bed in the morning up and going! and that was hiking for me, hiking in nature with the beautiful greenery and scenes, the fresh air! and all that comes with it.

Pre-detox meals

I like to workout feeling light and energetic, a smoothie in the morning gives me just that, its easy to digest enough to avoid that feeling of heaviness after a big meal, yet keeps my energy going for a good 2-3 hours, it alkalizes the body setting it up for better detox and weight loss, which is perfect to pair up with exercise.

 

POWERHOUSE TAHINI

1 ½ cups dairy free milk (almond, coconut or hemp)

2 tablespoons tahini

1 Cup spinach

½ cup mixed berries

1 banana, cinnamon

1 Tbsp. raw honey

Post detox meals

After my workout though its a different story, I am starving and I want a high protein meal to help build muscles and aid in fat loss, I usually have things like an egg or tuna salad on the go, or If I have more time I can get more creative like today !

 

QUINOA SHRIMP BOWLS

3 cups quinoa

2 pounds shrimp

3 tomato

2 avocado

2 pounds of mixed greens -Kale, swiss chard and spinach

1 large onion

2 sweet potato

2 yellow squash

2 green zucchini

Lemon Juice

salt and pepper

Olive oil

Turmeric

Thyme and oregano

Cumin

  • Soak the quinoa

  • Marinate the shrimps in olive oil, lemon, salt, pepper, cumin, oregano and thyme for 30 min then spread on a baking pan

  • Cut sweet potato, zucchini, and squash into cubes, slice the onion, drizzle olive oil and sea salt

  • Heat up the oven at 450 broil

  • Put both shrimp and vegetable oven trays in the oven until browned about 20-30 min.

P.S let your kids help but keep away the onions!

  • Strain the quinoa, add to pot, slightly cover with water and add 2 tsp of salt, a pinch of pepper, and 1 tsp. turmeric, let boil then lower the heat and cover for 15 min or until fully cooked.

  • Now cut your avocado in half, slice it and scoop it out

  • Cut your tomato in small cubes

  • Now everything is ready and everyone can enjoy assembling their plates

  • I also added goats cheese to garnish

Hope you Enjoyed the blog

Make sure you sign up to my newsletter to stay up to date with the latest recipes an tips!


Featured Posts

Archive

Follow Me

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page